Another wave

Salam Abbu

I didn’t forget you. I just couldn’t write all day. It was a sad day. I would call it borderline depressing .. Maha texted me from work to say she is sad and wants to come home. So it wasn’t just me. Then Ahmed chacha came and he looked sad when he talked about you.

Emaad was sitting with us tonight after dinner and he reminisced on how when he used to lead the prayer and be really bad at recitation, you’d look so proudly at him and tell him how wonderful he sounds. And then all went quiet. He internalized the pain that memory brought, Maha silently shed tears and I tried to think about something else.

Ammi was thinking about Friday prayer and how she’d tell you not to go because you had gotten so weak. And you’d get upset at her for stopping you from a good deed. Then she broke down and couldn’t talk to me any more.

Safia also called and said that she was talking about you to her kids and Suhayb set his alarm for fajr and actually got up and prayed!. She said, Abbu went but his influence still carries weight with people. She was happy yet so sad to lose the shade of wisdom, knowledge and purity that we have all lost with you leaving us.

A few more hours and you’ll be gone a week. And trust me when I say this, this was just another wave that we felt today. I hope there are no tsunamis waiting when I go home and find you gone. I love you Abbu.

Leave a comment