it’s been 2 years.

It’s been 2 years since I touched you. 2 years since I embraced you. 2 years of not being able to kiss you. As I waited to meet you, you left this earth. You left without saying goodbye. And I was patient. I thought if I didn’t think about you, I’d be fine. But this week? This week I just realized that time keeps passing by and instead of healing as it promised, it makes me realize that indeed I will never see you again. Never touch you, smell you, embrace you and kiss your soft head of white hair. again.

I think of the flowers you loved. The introduction to the variety of them. Your shy and mischievous smile. Your adventurous personality that introduced us to cultures, cities, valleys, history. Your energy and dedication in teaching us and many others everything you knew.

Your immense love for Allah and His Word and His Prophet. Your love to teach, provide, forgive, and just be the best in every way.

I fell short as a daughter, leaving you so early in life to live my own life. And now you are gone. Sitting in the company of those you love inshallah. Or are you under the earth sleeping away? The mysteries of the afterlife are exactly that: Mysteries. I just want to come and be with you and embrace you one more time. I promise you will not be disappointed in the love you will feel pouring out of me.

Its been 2 years. How many more do I have to endure?

Leave a comment