Late night ramblings

“What happened to this world?” A constant thought I have when I see or hear people on the internet. I don’t even seek news out nor seek to ‘follow’ others, yet if one is on their own pages, or just watching something, an Ad, an influencer, an influencer-wannabe etc..will pop up.

I often envision myself rolling my eyes all the time at so many things. Things that people are striving for. Things that become popular. And let’s just contain this to ‘practicing’ and ‘obvious’ Muslims as well. If I give them benefit of doubt, I’d just say they are disillusioned and think they are contributing to the positive, or ignorant and not realizing they are are not acting in accordance with Allah’s commands. Putting on an a hijab on, or sporting a beard, using the words, ‘mashallah’, ‘inshallah’ – that is not Islam. But most of us expect such people to have the knowledge of it enough to use their social media responsibly. Yet they do not.

You see, anyone with brains, ideas and desire to be popular can use social media and get famous and have followers. But anyone with intelligence, wisdom and self-respect along with ‘deen’ would know that to seek such things is ridiculous and counter-productive. At the very least , do all that if you must, but don’t mislead the young innocent minds into thinking that it’s okay to be a practicing Muslim and be making videos of you modeling in new clothes or just useless stuff.

What happened to concepts we grew up with, derived from Islamic values? The concepts of humbleness, humility, don’t show off, don’t be greedy, give don’t take, simplicity etc. etc. etc.?

It’s hard being a person who is on hyper alert mode all the time and is afraid of falling into the same sin. I was told lately by someone to make a short video explaining my business (art) and why I make it. I am having a hard time digesting that even though its only for marketing the products I want to sell – not to make myself popular! And it’s not shyness stopping me either but this constant dread and doubt if its the right thing or not? When the Shuyukh (scholars of Islam) are out there making videos and promoting themselves as well (not all but some), one wonders if its okay to do that for a business or education of the masses?

I also go into the self-doubt mode that am I being judgmental? What if the ones promoting themselves are just clueless about it being wrong?

Of course this takes me to another topic: Ai. Yes, I am digressing but Artificial intelligence is a real threat to humanity. Not because there’s anything wrong with creating Ai for a bigger purpose but because human beings are so greedy and destructive that they are using Ai- and will use Ai – to be even more destructive. As the experts tell us: Ai is billion times more intelligent that 99.9% humans. Imagine the world in a few months…yes a few months! and then beyond.

So of course, when I see people lost within themselves, posting meaningless videos, I wonder if they even think about the threat to humanity looming over our heads or do they just don’t care? Is ignorance really bliss?

Allah (swt) tells us that we are the best of creations. So where does that put Ai? Is that why we are told by Prophet (pbuh) to move to the mountains with our livestock? Because you are either going to be enslaved by these creatures or their masters or decide to live in places where no one wants to go and live out your days.

Late night ramblings when I can’t sleep because my brain wants solutions..and I am stuck.

Until next time….Stay human!

Leave a comment